Now running Firefox 3 – is this the right version?

So today, June 18, on our side of the planet is the actual Firefox 3 Download day. The geek in me had lost its brain yesterday because I woke up very early in the morning just to download Firefox 3 and be part of some awesome world record – for geeks.

But lo and behold, all I found was that “coming soon” graphic on the Firefox 3 Download day website. After blurting, “WTF?!” it then occurred to me that I was on a different time zone than where the Mozilla folks are so I had to wait for some 10 hours and more before the sun has shined on their part of the globe turning their calendars into June 17, 2008.

Being the genius that I am, I did some timezone computations using complex algorithms and found out from friends on Twitter that Download day would actually be June 18, 1:00am here on Philippine soil.

That was some 6 hours ago and right now I’m running Firefox 3 and officially part of that world record – for geeks. I sure am glad I did not wait up until 1am earlier for Firefox 3 to be officially available for download because one; I was really wrestling against my tired-from-school, skinny-ass body who has taken sides with the Sandman, in his futile attempt to prevent me from becoming part of that awesome world record – for geeks, and second; I had a feeling that once Firefox 3 does become available for download, those 1 Million-strong fans who pledged to join the quest for that world record download – for geeks, the Mozilla servers would be swamped DDoS-style. And it did, as Yuga puts it succinctly, Firefox 3 Download Day goes kaput!.

Well for a couple of hours, after which everything went down smoothly and the Mozilla servers are now up, running and serving up Firefox 3 to the masses. Holding back and taking some sleep really proved to be a good choice as I did not suffer the frustration of some who weren’t able to download Firefox 3 right away after staying up and waiting that long. Patience does have its rewards.

But wait, what’s this?

Firefox 3

I did download the correct installer right? And this is the final version of Firefox 3 not some Release Candidate Beta version right? Then how come that was the page I saw after running Firefox 3 for the very first time? Guys any ideas?

Anyways, so far, I’m happy with Firefox 3. It’s got some refreshing look and feel, it loads pages a lot faster than before, most of plugins work well with it and it does take up less system memory though the new “Awesome bar” annoys me a little because it doesn’t throw back the exact right URLs I’m looking for but hey, over all, Firefox 3 is awesome! Go download it now, retake the web with the best browser today and be part of that world record for – geeks.

2 Comments

  1. i say the FF people did a pretty good job confusing me…

    “Please download Firefox 3 by 11:16 a.m. PDT (18:16 UTC) on June 18, 2008. That’s 11:16 a.m. in Mountain View, 2:16 p.m. in Toronto, 3:16 p.m. in Rio de Janeiro, 8:16 p.m. in Paris, Madrid, Berlin, Rome and Warsaw, 10:16 p.m. in Moscow, and June 19, 2008 at 2:16 a.m. in Beijing and 3:16 a.m. in Tokyo.”

    iRonnies last blog post..During Vacation, Cover More Areas

    Reply

Leave a Reply